Puffin Preen, Machias Seal Island, Maine, USA (Or is it Nova Scotia, Canada? Depends on who you ask.)

Continuing with the theme of posting photos from my Maine outing, here’s a favorite of mine from Machias Seal Island. Ian Plant and I went out with Bold Coast Charters on a puffin tour to the island. We left out of Cutler, Maine and had absolutely perfect sea conditions for the hour long ride each way. Once we got on the island, it was ninety minutes of non-stop shutter clicking. I shot about 2000 exposures! We had excellent conditions with a light overcast cloud cover, and the wind coming from behind us, so I shot tons of portraits, head shots, group shots, and even some flight images that I’m really excited to process.

Anyhow, I’m tired and don’t feel like writing much at the moment, so I’ll shut up and post the picture đŸ™‚ That’s all you guys are here for, riiiiight?

20090609_0330

Please click the above image(s) to view larger.

To purchase a print or stock rights, please contact me. Feel free to view more of my work at my website.

7 Responses to Puffin Preen, Machias Seal Island, Maine, USA (Or is it Nova Scotia, Canada? Depends on who you ask.)

  1. Well, Google Maps thinks it’s in Nova Scotia.

  2. Alex Mody says:

    Booooooooo…..

    Only maps.google.ca says so!

  3. Nice behavior shot, Alex.

  4. Nice article found your site searching in google I think you could have taken a more neutral view.

  5. calum nairn says:

    Nice article found your site searching in google I think you could have taken a more neutral view.

  6. Alex Mody says:

    Thank you. I’m not quite sure what you mean by that, though, since I did not share or even suggest that I have an opinion on the matter…

Leave a Reply

