Maine Day 2: Sunrise from Cadillac Mountain, Acadia National Park, Maine

Well, today was a heck of a day! I got up and left at 4:00AM to catch a lovely 4:45 sunrise. I then spent the rest of the day chasing warblers, which was mostly a bust besides one good American Redstart. I also did a good amount of scouting during the day, and found some nice cooperative birds to try and go back to in better light.

Anyhow, I shot this scene with a GND filter, but I also bracketed exposures to blend when I get home. Regardless, this isn’t my final version of the shot, but here’s what I worked up on my craptop!

20090604_0032-1

Please click the above image(s) to view larger.

To purchase a print or stock rights, please contact me. Feel free to view more of my work at my website.

2 Responses to Maine Day 2: Sunrise from Cadillac Mountain, Acadia National Park, Maine

  1. Chris Kayler says:

    Awesome. When you get around to reprocessing this one, make sure you keep all the dark tonalities … it looks really good. The brighter flowers in the foreground really allow it because they break up the darkness there a bit so it isn’t just a big blob of low detail.

  2. Lovely shot! Looking foward for the “final” version đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

