Maine Day 1: Sunset Layers, Cadillac Mountain, Acadia National Park, Maine

Hey everybody,

I’ve just completed my first full day of shooting in Maine. It went pretty well, by my standards at least. I went out looking for birds this morning and during a brief cloudy stint this afternoon. The highlight was certainly an extremely cooperative Black-throated Green Warbler. I found tons of spots with tons of different birds for me to go back to. I’m really making an effort to get some songbirds out here, especially with all of the cloudy skies the Maine coast so graciously has to offer.

Anyway, I got caught up with the birds, and lost track of time. I had been planning a hike for sunset. I hurried from where I was birding to the summit of Cadillac Mountain, and caught the last 15 minutes of a pretty nice light show. I have some wide angle shots as well, but they require a blend, which I’m not equipped to do on my laptop. So, here’s a telephoto shot. Once again, please excuse the laptop processing.

20090603_0245

Please click the above image(s) to view larger.

To purchase a print or stock rights, please contact me. Feel free to view more of my work at my website.

5 Responses to Maine Day 1: Sunset Layers, Cadillac Mountain, Acadia National Park, Maine

  1. Josh Gahagan says:

    Great shot Alex. Sorry we missed each other the other day, we’ll have to do something someday. Have a good time in Maine. How long will you be staying for?

  2. Chris Kayler says:

    Nice shot man. I’m digging it – tho I might prefer like 30 more pixels on the bottom. Can’t wait to see those blends.

  3. Alex Mody says:

    Hey Josh, no worries. I was able to get some cool stuff in the park. Our paths with cross some time again! I’ll be up in Maine until the 13th. I’d suggest we meet up when I’m driving down, but I’m assisting my friend Joe with a photo workshop on the 14th.

    Chris, I’ve got a bunch that are wider. I like it that way too. I’ll get around to the blends in a few weeks 🙂

  4. Josh Gahagan says:

    You should email me some photos from Quabbin….

  5. Alex Mody says:

    I will as soon as I process!

Leave a Reply

