Pair of Harlequin Ducks, Barnegat Light, NJ

Hey everyone,

I’m taking a quick break from processing shots I took on my long trip to show you some birds I photographed this winter. Here’s a shot from early February of male and female Harlequin Ducks. They’re definitely one of the more interesting waterfowl I’ve seen! In this shot I liked the way the two of ’em were sitting next to each other. I stopped down to f/13 to get them both in focus.

Barnegat Light is a great place to photograph them, along with Red-breasted Mergansers, Long-tailed Ducks, Brant, and some Scoters or a Common Eider if you’re lucky.

20090209_0020-1

4 Responses to Pair of Harlequin Ducks, Barnegat Light, NJ

  1. Chris Kayler says:

    Dear BonQuiQui,

    I like the ose / comp of this one, but the colors seem off. A little too cyan from where I’m sitting. Try sliding the color balance slider away from cyan and towards red and see what you think?

  2. Alex Mody says:

    Thanks Chris. I attributed it to the fact that the ocean was in the background, but after following your suggestion it looks quite a bit better.

Leave a Reply

