Kestrel up close!

Hey guys,

I completely forgot to talk about it on here, but I’m currently in Hamilton, Ontario, staying with Greg Schneider and his incredibly hospitable family. I had wanted to get back up here this winter, as my previous visit was only twelve hours long. Anyhow, we went out today to a place known for having good raptors to photograph. We set out, hoping to find a Red-tailed Hawk, Great Horned Owl, or Saw-whet Owls, but instead we found this amazing American Kestrel that did not seem to be afraid of us at all. Tomorrow we’re heading east towards Amherst Island and Ottawa. Hopefully we’ll find some owls!

20090215_0166-1

4 Responses to Kestrel up close!

  1. Very nice shot of this Krestrel! Good luck with Amherst island đŸ˜‰

  2. Alex Mody says:

    Thanks Dominic. It was a complete bust. Ottawa, on the other hand, is a completely different story!

  3. karipost says:

    Have I ever told you I hate you?

    In all seriousness though, awesome shot! I would love to have a photo like this of one of these guys.

  4. Alex Mody says:

    Kari,

    I’m sorry you hate me. We just got lucky with this guy. I’ve failed with this species every single time I’ve tried except for this.

Leave a Reply

