Tundra Swan at last light, Choptank River, Maryland

Hey everybody,

Yesterday afternoon I drove out to Cambridge, Maryland to photograph some waterfowl on the Choptank River. It was a great afternoon, as I was able to make images of Tundra Swan, Canvasback, Redhead, American Widgeon, and Lesser Scaup. The light was good, the water was relatively calm, and it wasn’t too cold. I had expected it to be very crowded with birders due to the Eurasian Widgeon and Tufted Duck sightings, but that wasn’t the case. I came across this Tundra Swan with about five minutes of sunlight left in the day. It was fairly far out, but I set up my gear and waited anyway. Much to my happiness, after not even a minute, it swam in much closer and I was able to make this image. I really love the way super low-angle sunlight almost seems to make white birds glow.

20090131_0587

3 Responses to Tundra Swan at last light, Choptank River, Maryland

  1. Love it. I wish I had something this good on the species.

  2. Alex Mody says:

    Thanks man. You should come out here in March! Waterfowl will still be around… Tons of Tundra Swans. You could also shoot the Gannets in the Delaware bay.

  3. Michael Tim says:

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

