Coyote Chase- Pt. 1

Hey everybody,

I’ve made it to Ohio. His bird-ness Sir Matthew Studebaker has been kind enough to let me crash at his place tonight. We’re getting something like a foot of snow here in the next 24 hours, so I’m going to go out shooting waterfalls in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. It should be nice to get to shoot some falls with a fresh coat of snow! I’m also going to try my hand at a pair of Hairy Woodpeckers that have been hanging around Matthew’s feeders. Hopefully that will work out too. After a quick visit across the border tomorrow, I’ll finally be headed home!

Anyway, here’s the first of a few shots I made of there two Coyotes. I found them in the Lamar Valley area of Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming. One of their friends had been attacked and killed by wolves just a few moments before. The one in the back was clearly unhappy with the other, and they fought it out for a little bit! It was truly spectacular to witness this.

20090106_0018

4 Responses to Coyote Chase- Pt. 1

  1. Very nice serie Alex!

  2. Ethan Meleg says:

    Very cool capture Alex….. love the interaction between the two!

  3. Ray says:

    I was shooting these guys right beside you Alex – hello from Canada. Its so cool to see your work up here, especially this series. I remember how excited you were to review them with us in the camera. Considering how fast this scene developed (I missed the chase completeley) you got incredible results. Your viewers may not appreciate how dark it was out there. Nice job…..

  4. Alex Mody says:

    Dominic and Ethan: Thanks guys. I’m glad you like the series.

    Ray: I sure was excited when it happened. It all hapened in a blink of an eye, and I simply got lucky. It’s all good. There will be plenty more for the both of us. And yeah, it really was dark out there. It’s a miracle we got decent images.

Leave a Reply

