Snow is on the way!

Hey everybody. I’m still in Moab, Utah, in case you were wondering. I’m probably going to be here until Christmas or so. I’ve been shooting a bit around the area, and in Arches/Canyonlands National parks for the last few days. I’ve had some really interesting weather, and some great light. It’s supposed to start snowing here in a little bit, which I’m pretty excited about. From what I’ve read, they’re forecasting totals of 1-3″ in town, 4-6″ in the higher elevations at Arches and Canyonlands, and then a few feet up in the nearby La Sal Mountains! I’ll be getting together with local photographer, friend, and cool cop Bret Edge at some point over the next few days to shoot. If you haven’t seen his work, you should click that link. He has fresh perspectives of an area that is icon-laden and extremely over-shot.  The adventure photography is pretty cool too. Geez… I sound like an advertisement.

Here are two shots from last Saturday. The first one is of Balanced Rock in Arches National Park. This is actually the first time I’ve done a B+W, and I’m not so sure how I feel about it. The clouds were spectacular, but the light was pretty drab, so I figured it’d be appropriate.

20081213_0013

This second one is in Canyonlands National Park, just a half mile or so north of Grandview Point. I was photographing out on the actual overlook earlier in the afternoon, and noticed a small sliver of clear sky in between storm clouds. Knowing how potentially awesome these conditions can often be, I walked around for a half hour or so, looking for a good place to photograph. I ended up at this spot, thinking that the light would hit the falling rain/snow off in the distance. I was wrong about how it’d turn out, but happily so!

20081213_0141

5 Responses to Snow is on the way!

  1. John says:

    Hi Alex,
    In Moab ’til Christmas, eh? Where are you hanging your hat? I was thinking of driving up there in the next week or so after this storm departs. Only two hours away.
    We expect about a foot of snow in Cortez. Say ‘howdy!’ to Bret for me. We’ve never met…

    –John

  2. modyphoto says:

    Hey John,

    Thanks for stopping by the blog! I am e-mailing you in response to this… You should try and make it up here if you can! Enjoy the snow..

  3. Ethan Meleg says:

    Alex, the B&W of Balanced Rock is excellent. Very Ansel Adams-esque. Keep up the great work!

  4. Jaci says:

    Snow! I’m so excited! Cool cops are cool!

  5. Kari Post says:

    Hey Alex, I really like the second one. I love the light and the colors – I’m always a sucker the orange glow of sunset against blue shadows and clouds.

    The B&W has potential, but the processing doesn’t work for me. If you brighten the whole image a bit (the bright areas need to be brighter) and really work on bringing out the detail in the rocks with some shadow highlight and contrast, I think the whole image will look a lot better. I’m not sure which method you are using to convert to B&W, but playing with the color filters might help too. Enjoy the snow (and your semi-clean shirt)!

Leave a Reply

