Done with the Buttes!

Hey everybody,

I’ve spent the last few days shooting at Coyote Buttes North, South, and the White Pocket. It was AWESOME. Such a cool part of the desert. The geography there is just ridiculous. I’m amazed by what erosion can do to sandstone. I can’t wait to get back out there next time I’m in the area!

I’m headed out to Valley of Fire State Park, Nevada today, and then I’m off to Death Valley for a few days! I hadn’t anticipated making it that far west, but I shaved a few days off my itinerary for other locations, and made it fit.

This first image is from Coyote Buttes South. I climbed up towards the top of a formation, and found these rocks to use as a foreground.

20081202_0010-1

The second image is from the North section, and is from a spot called the “second wave.”

20081203_0097

Finally, this one was from the actual “wave.” The light was less than ideal, so I focused on photographing smaller sections of the formation.

20081203_0022

7 Responses to Done with the Buttes!

  1. Jaci says:

    Makes me want to go surfing.

  2. modyphoto says:

    Well, maybe you should, then!

  3. Jaci says:

    Maybe YOU should. I hope a shark eats you.

  4. Roger says:

    there will be NO sharks eating my son!!!! ha ha

  5. Steve Murray says:

    Nice! That looks like a really interesting place. As usual – you took some nice pix. Watch out for the land sharks….

  6. modyphoto says:

    Thank you all for the insightful commentary. Steve, yes, it is an interesting place. I never imagined that rocks would take the forms they do. Erosion really is something.

  7. Ethan Meleg says:

    Alex, you kicked butt at Coyote Buttes man….. great photos. Amazing place!

Leave a Reply

