Blastoff! + Grand Canyon

Hey everybody,

I’m writing this from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. I drove out here from Bosque yesterday. It was sad leaving such a ridiculously awesome place, but my Dad, Stepmom, and three siblings are out here visiting right now. It has been a blast so far. I’m going to be having a busy week. We all leave here tomorrow, and then my girlfriend is coming in to Page, Arizona to visit for Thanksgiving.

This place is truly spectacular, but man am I having a hard time photographing it well. The weather and light have been decent, but I just haven’t been able to kick it into gear yet. I have had some success shooting birds out here, but that’s obviously not going to be my main focus out here. Hopefully things are going to work out a bit better for me tomorrow!

Here’s a photograph from my last morning at Bosque. The “blast off” was insane with around 40,000 Snow Geese taking flight at the same time. The day before, there was a sizable brush fire in the valley, so I can only assume some of the smoke left in the air helped with the sky in this shot.

20081120_00991

And here is a photograph of a favorite bird, a Steller’s Jay. It’s quite common out west, especially around picnic areas and campgrounds, but I’ll never tire of this beautiful bird.

20081121_0078

And finally, here’s a group shot.

img_0171

3 Responses to Blastoff! + Grand Canyon

  1. Chris Kayler says:

    HI!

    Glad the fam is out joining you … that’s pretty cool.

    Love the Stellar’s Jay, what an awesome bird.

    BYE.

  2. Roger says:

    Hey! I thought you were going to use another family picture of us! One where your dad is looking into the camera! Xander, we ALL had such a great time visiting you and hope that your photographic journey continues with much success. Dad

    ps don’t foget to CHANGE the family picture!

  3. that blast off images…is just great! Congrats

Leave a Reply

