Bosque del Apache NWR

Hey everybody,

I’ve now left Texas, and have shot at Bosque del Apache for the last few days. I apologize for not updating in a week, and I can promise that the next will be full of updates, as I head out to Arizona! Anyway, Bosque del Apache is nuts. There are over 37,000 Snow Geese and 4,700 Sandhill Cranes here right now, according to the Park Service. The light has been good, and the shooting conditions have been nothing short of awesome. After a morning shoot tomorrow, I’ll be heading off for the Grand Canyon.

I’ve really been concentrating on flight photography out here, because the conditions have been pretty good for it. I haven’t even begun to work on image I’ve made here, but here are two I’ve managed to process. The first one is a Sandhill Crane flying, and the second is a Snow Goose “putting on the brakes.”

20081119_0040-1

20081119_0085-2

Finally, if you haven’t yet, you should take a look at Ethan Meleg’s work, and Chris Dodds’ work. They have both been extremely kind in their willingness to show me around this place, and they are both excellent photographers themselves. Ethan is currently in the middle of an 18 month photo journey… And I thought I was nuts for wanting to do three. Anyhow, if you’re not familiar with their photography, please drop by their websites and take a look.

Leave a Reply

