Wile E. Coyote and a giant bite from an Ant!

Hey everyone,

I’m currently at a Mexican Restaurant in Lawton, OK, as usual, grabbing some wi-fi. Things have been pretty interesting both yesterday and today.

I was out photographing prairie dogs last night at a new favorite spot of mine, and about an hour before sunset, a Coyote came through. It was looking for a snack, if you know what I mean. Now, Coyotes are very common out here, but I was excited to see and photograph one anyways. It basically made a half circle around me, cruising through the prairie dog town, looking for dinner. I had my tripod down low, and I was trying to maintain a low profile to make sure I didn’t spook it. A truck began to head back in the direction that it came from, so I followed, staying low, and trying not to bother it too much. After about 15 minutes (which felt like forever at the time,) the Coyote came back, and went the other direction. I was able to photograph it in front light, sidelight from both sides, and then backlight, which made for a very complete feeling experience.

Now, while this was going on, I had to keep a low perspective, for my photographs to have a better perspective, and to make sure I didn’t bother the Coyote. At one point, I felt ants crawling up my leg, so I had to get up and shake them off, which I thought nothing of at the time. I awoke in my tent this morning to find a dime-sized bubble on the side of my leg, and it was filled with liquid. I’ll spare you from having to see the picture. I called my dad, who spoke with a friend of his that is a Doctor, and he said that I had better go to the ER to get it tested, because it could be Staph. The Doctor informed me that I had been bitten by a huge ant, and that it was nothing to worry about. I almost couldn’t believe it! An ant bite caused this huge bubble on my leg. How interesting.

Anyway, here are a few shots of the Coyote. And if you wanted to see a picture of the leg-bubble, I regret to inform you that I will not be posting it on here. Feel free to click on the images to see them larger, and in a new window.

8 Responses to Wile E. Coyote and a giant bite from an Ant!

  1. Ken Conger says:

    Nice series. Enjoyed reading your post. You have a nice diversity of quality images.

  2. Greg Schneider says:

    Wow Alex, you are sure having quite the adventure. As I sit here preparing for more midterms I can’t help but feel a bit jealous đŸ˜‰ I’d love to be able to do a trip like you are.

  3. Great shots! I love the light in the first one

  4. Ken Hopkins says:

    Alex.

    I found your blog and website from a comment you left on my friends blog ( Ethan Meleg ) I had a look around your blog and website. And I must say I love your work.

    I am working my way up the photography ladder and some day hope to be at the level of Ethan and yourself. I have booked marked your site and will return soom.

    Feel free to contact me if you like.
    Ken

  5. modyphoto says:

    Wow, four responses! That’s a high for me, haha.

    Ken, thanks for commenting. I try to keep things diverse, though I must admit my true passion is landscape photography. Glad you enjoyed reading!

    Greg, sorry you have midterms to deal with. All I have to say is that you can do this for cheaper than you’d think. If you have no problem sleeping in a tent, you can sleep for free, and sometimes go to a “pay campsite” where you pay $6-10 and get a place to pitch a tent, plus showers and running water. If you also think about the recent dip in gas prices, it’s really not that bad. Also, your car looks like it gets good mileage. Just something to think about. We get summer breaks from school so we can go do stuff anyways..

    Matthew, Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I really love backlighting on wildlife. More with mammals than anything else, but its nice nonetheless.

    Ken #2, I’m glad you came by the blog for the first time. I truly appreciate your kind words. I’ll be sure to have a look around your page as well. This is a really fun “ladder” to climb, and I encourage you to do as much as you can.

  6. Pirsey says:

    After reading through this article, I just feel that I really need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some more resources please?

  7. Camping Tips says:

    Nice Article. Have bookmarked your site! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

