Winter pays a visit to the Blue Ridge

Hey everyone, here’s a long one!

This morning was AWESOME! Forecasts were calling from  anything between a dusting of snow to two inches. There were four inches when I woke up at my campsite! I was up at about 6000ft on Black Balsam Knob, which is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. They usually close the parkway when any substantial snow falls, so my thought was that I’d rather get locked in, as opposed to locked out. I don’t say this often, but man, was that a good idea!

I woke up and found a note under my windshield wiper teling me that the parkway was closed, and instructing me as to which gate was left unlocked for me to exit. So, I had a six mile stretch of the parkway that was available for me to shoot, and I made the most of it until the light was too harsh.

The foliage up there was past peak for the most part, but I managed to find a few good spots. Here’s one of a couple I really like from the shoot. I was shooting this particular location for over an hour and a half. I’d compose an image, and then wait for the wind/snow to blow in just the right direction.

I’m on my way to Fort Payne, Alabama right now. I have to be in McAllen, Texas on the 6th. it looks like the south end of the Blue Ridge is going to have some amazing color this fall, but I don’t think its going to happen for another 10-15 days. So, instead of shooting in summer-like conditions and being bummed that I’m not getting peak foliage, I’m going to head on over to Arkansas and Oklahoma and shoot there for the next week.

2 Responses to Winter pays a visit to the Blue Ridge

  1. Jaci says:

    Wow, this is really beautiful. Nice work silly!

  2. modyphoto says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

