Great Falls National Park, VA

Here’s a photograph from last week up at Great Falls National Park.  I met up with another photographer, Chris Kayler, to photograph the sunrise. The shooting conditions were pretty nice. The skies were very clear, which was less than ideal, but there was a good amount of mist rising off the water, which is characteristic of this time of year. I showed up a bit late and I think I missed the best light. That’s okay, though, since I have no shortage of days I can go back. I live only 15 minutes away.

Anyway, here’s my favorite shot from that morning. I’ll be heading back a few times this week, so look out for more shots soon. I also had the opportunity to photograph shorebirds in Conneaut, Ohio, so I’ll be posting plenty of those images as well!

2 Responses to Great Falls National Park, VA

  1. Kari Post says:

    Hey Alex nice shot. Great choice of composition and shutter speed. I like the light here even if it wasn’t the best of the morning. I decided to check out your site after talking to Chris this morning and I have to say you have some impressive shots, especially considering the short amount of time you have been doing photography. Keep up the good work and hopefully we can meet up sometime next month.

  2. modyphoto says:

    Hey Kari,

    Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your kind words. Chris told me about your photography and I actually just checked out your site as well. I had seen your work before but didn’t put it together that you were the person he was talking about. He also mentioned a possible outing to shoot bucks in Big Meadows this September, so hopefully that’ll work out!

Leave a Reply

