Breaking Fog over Mather Gorge

I took this shot on August 4th in Great Falls National Park. I went out there hoping for some dramatic sunrise light, and was given this scene instead.

If you’ve been following my old blog, you’re aware of the fact that I had most of my equipment stolen in mid-July. I’ve now replaced most of what I lost, but when I shot this photo, I had yet to recieve new Grad-ND’s in the mail. This shot is a blend of two exposures, one for the land, and one for the sky. This is the first time I’ve used this technique and been happy with it!

Please visit my website at www.alexmody.com to see more of my work.

2 Responses to Breaking Fog over Mather Gorge

  1. Ed Cooley says:

    Nice image. You can’t see any blending artifacts. I have found digital blending far superior to grads.

  2. modyphoto says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Ed.

    I don’t think I’ll be able to give up my grads at this point, but it’s nice to know I can always do this if I’m in a pinch! I think I’m really just growing to like them both.

Leave a Reply

